Backcountry Stash

You found the secret stash sucka!



Indulge in this plethora of Eastern backcountry specific links for all of your adventures
into the wild…  

HIGHER SUMMITS WEATHER FORECASTS
VT & NY
www.srh.noaa.gov/data/BTV/RECBTV
– Mountain Point Forecast:
www.weather.gov/btv/mountain
– Archive of Higher Summits Forecast:
www.nws.noaa.gov/view/validProds.php?prod=REC&node=KBTV
ME & NH
www.srh.noaa.gov/data/GYX/RECGYX
Mt. Washington, NH
www.mountwashington.org/weather/summit_forecast.php
Adirondack High Peaks Region, NY
www.adk.org/page.php?pname=trail-conditions


OTHER MISC. WEATHER LINKS

North America Global Forecast System (GFS)
& North America Mesoscale Model (NAM)
mag.ncep.noaa.gov
Winter Weather Information – ME & NH
www.weather.gov/gyx/EMwinter
Mt. Washington, NH Temperature Profile – Regional Mesonet
www.mountwashington.org/weather/mesonet/?z=3
Mt. Mansfield, VT Temperature Profile – Regional Mesonet
– Elevation-specific Virtual Temperature Profiles for 
entire Green Mountain Spine
– Low level wind shear, lapse rate, Froude Number, and more
www.weather.gov/btv/profile
Mt. Mansfield, VT Snowstake
www.uvm.edu/skivt-l/?Page=depths.php
Forecasting Upslope Snow in the Green Mountains, VT
www.weather.gov/btv/froude
Windchill Chart – Know your windchill!
www.nws.noaa.gov/om/winter/windchill.shtml• More Winter Resources
www.nws.noaa.gov/om/winter


EASTERN AVALANCHE FORECASTS & ADVISORIES

Mt. Washington/ Tuckerman Ravine, NH
www.mountwashingtonavalanchecenter.org/category/avalanche-advisory-for-tuckerman-and-huntington-ravines
Chic Choc Mountains, Gaspe National Park, QC
www.centreavalanche.qc.ca/conditions/bulletins-avalanche/bulletin-en

     

BACKCOUNTRY GUIDE SERVICES & AVALANCHE COURSES / EDUCATION
• Ski Chic Chocs – Sainte-Anne-des-Monts, QC:  www.skichicchocs.com
• Chic Chac – Murdochville, QC:  www.chic-chac.ca/en/skiing-packages
• Acadia Mountain Guides – Orono, ME:  www.acadiamountainguides.com
• Let’s Get Outdoors – Stowe, VT:  www.lets-get-outdoors.com/?page_id=418
• Sunrise Mountain Guides – Stowe, VT:  www.sunrisemountainguides.com/winter/backcountry-skiing
• Catamount Trail Association – Burlington, VT:  www.catamounttrail.org/tours/skin-up-ski-down-tours
• Petra Cliffs Mountaineering School – Burlington, VT:  www.petracliffs.com/mountaineeringschool/snow
• Killington Mountain Guides – Pittsfield, VT:  www.killingtonmountainguides.com/shop/advance-backcountry-skiing
• Chauvin Guides – N. Conway, NH:  www.chauvinguides.com
• EMS School – N. Conway, NH:  www.emsclimb.com
• Northeast Mountaineering – Glen, NH:  www.nemountaineering.com
• Synnott Mountain Guides – Jackson, NH:  www.newhampshireclimbing.com/new-hampshire-backcountry-ski.asp
• Adirondack Rock & River Guide Service – Keene, NY:  www.rockandriver.com
• Cloudsplitter Mountain Guides – Keene Valley, NY:  www.cloudsplitterguides.com


AVALANCHE EDUCATION
  (You can never watch and study this stuff enough, so please do!)
American Avalanche Association
– www.americanavalancheassociation.org
– www.avalanche.org
– Avalanche Awareness Tutorial:  www.avalanche.org/tutorial/tutorial.html

Forest Service National Avalanche Center
– www.fsavalanche.com
– Stability Tests:  www.fsavalanche.org/stability-tests
– Search & Rescue Info:  www.fsavalanche.org/rescue
– Avalanche Glossary:  www.fsavalanche.org/Encyclopedia

Canadian Avalanche Centre
www.avalanche.ca
– Online Avalanche Course:  www.avalanche.ca/training#online-primer

Backcountry Access (BCA) Learning Center:  www.backcountryaccess.com/learn-avalanche-safety
Avalanche FAQ:  www.utahavalanchecenter.org/faq
Avalanche Awareness Guide 101:  .PDF PRINT OUT FOR YOUR POCKET – CLICK HERE

VIDEOS:
BCA Avalanche Education Video Library:  www.backcountryaccess.com/portfolio-category/avalanche-safety-videos

BEACON SEARCH 101

AVALANCHE PROBING 101

AVALANCHE SHOVELING 101